Pinterest MPL MPL on Twitter

Library Board of Trustees

The Matteson Public Library’s Board of Trustees is the governing body of the library. The Board is composed of seven members elected to a staggered six year term by the general public.

The Board is responsible for establishing policies governing the library programs and usage; Overseeing the budget and financial administration; Revising policies when needed to improve or expand services; Formulating and reviewing long range plans for future development and expansion of services when the needs of the library so indicate; and Actively advocating for library support at both the local and state levels.

The Board appoints the Library Director, who is responsible for the administration of the Library. The Library has a departmental structure, with advisory teams established along general library functions. The heads of the departments report to the Director and supervise the staffs and functions of their departments.

Board meetings are normally scheduled on the second Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Library Meeting Room on the lower level of the building.

All meetings are open to the public.

You may contact the Board of Trustees at